The Tate Way

it’s worked so far

Deconstructed Wedding Dress…a Saga December 6, 2008

Filed under: all about me!,things I must do — Dianna @ 12:30 pm
Tags:

There are 3 facts that led to the saga of the deconstructed wedding dress: 1. I got married; 2. I got divorced; 3. I couldn’t sell or even give my wedding dress away- it  only fit me!

On Monday night as I was packing up my linens (I’m moving ya’ll!). I came across my wedding dress.  Although it is a very pretty dress, it wasn’t really my style.  But I kept it even after the divorce so I could make pillows out of it (or whatever else I managed to come up with).   In the mist of all the linens and the little boy running around I started to pull the seams out of my dress.

dscn2047

There was no liberating feeling.  There was no sadness.   There was only the pain I felt from poking myself with the seam ripper.  At first I was only going to remove the outer most layer of my dress.

dscn2050

But then I didn’t want to waste the rest of the fabric. So I continued to poke myself as I ripped away at the seams for the better part of a hour.

dscn2059

I’m finished for now.  My dress (minus the petticoat, I threw that away) is in 3 pieces on the floor of my bedroom. Any suggestions on what I should make out of it?  My seam ripper is ready for action.

dscn2052

 

4 Responses to “Deconstructed Wedding Dress…a Saga”

  1. Bethro Says:

    I love the idea of you making something amazing and representative of who you are now: a slinky cocktail dress or skirt (or something).

    Isn’t it kind of amazing that the things pop culture tells us should be symbols have little to no emotional impact on us? If this were a movie, you would be ripping triumphantly with swelling music in the background.

    Need help moving? Let us know know when and we’ll be there!

  2. kate Says:

    i feel like white is a hard color to wear, but a cute cocktail dress with like a tulip skirt would be adorable with a black belt and black tights.

    where are you moving to?

    xo
    kate

  3. […] you guys would appreciate Dianna’s post on making something old new again…you know that’s one of my favorite […]

  4. Rebecca Says:

    Angel Gowns. That’s what I’m going to do with mine. I’m going to donate it to Angel Gowns, to be deconstructed and remade into dear little burial robes for stillborn babies. Such a moving, touching service. x


Leave a Reply

